Sunday Night Skin Rituals

Ahh, Sunday. Some weeks known as the day of rest, and others the day of brunching + boozing. Whether its due to a drawn out week, or a weekend of fun in the sun, our skin can wind up looking a bit dull + depleted by the time Sunday comes around. It is important to take the time to not only treat your skin, but treat yourself as well. So the next time Sunday comes around, grab your favorite wind-down sounds, your current skin care obsessions + take some time to honor the magic + beauty that is YOU.

Some of the questions I get most from clients is how to know which products to choose, and how to know what your skin type is.  The answer is simple: listen to your skin!  Observing your skins texture, tone, pore size + elasticity will help a great deal in knowing your skin time. For example: if a person has larger pores in their t-zone, and tend to get shiny throughout the day, the most likely have a oily skin. If a person has minimal to no visible pores, with a healthy balance of hydration on the surface of their skin, they most likely have a normal skin type. However, if a person falls victim to shine throughout the day, but their skin still feels tight and dry on the outside edges, they may have combination skin + suffer from dehydration. I find a lot of people to fall under this skin condition, but with a bit of extra love + care, you can get your skin back on track in no time. And always remember, an adult human body is made up of about 60% water.  This is why it is so important to hydrate, hydrate, hydrate!

As a lover of all things beauty, my skin routine rotates heavily. I use elements such as my mood + my skins condition to help determine the products I will use that day. Lately, I have been using a combination of pore minimizing masks, oils, toners + scrubs to create the perfect, healthy glow for my skin. This is the skin care routine that currently works great for me, but remember- each person is different and unique, and so will their skincare routines be.  Find what works best for you, what speaks to your personal style, enhances your good mood + get ready to be amazed at what a consistent routine can do for you + your outer layer.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Today, I began my evening beauty ritual by gathering all of the tools + products I need. This includes: a spatula, a fan brush, two washcloths, cleanser, exfoliator, toner, a pore refining mask + oils. My skin is typically combination, so the balance of the pore refining mask and oils help to fight my dehydration while still providing me with essential oils + a protective outer layer of moisture for my skin.

Step 1: Cleanse. My go-to choice these days is Repêchage Hydra 4 Cleanser for sensitive skin.  Repêchage is a seaweed based skin care line that is super rich in nutrients + feels like heaven on my skin. The Hydra 4 Cleanser cleans my skin without leaving it feeling tight and dry, and the Olive extracts help to remove grime + make-up from the surface of my skin. I lightly massage this onto my skin, then gently remove with a warm washcloth.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Step 2: Exfoliate. If you have never used Éminence Organics Skin Care, the time is now.  One of my favorites from their line (trust me, there are many) is the Pear + Poppy Seed Microderm Polisher. To use, simply mix a small amount with water, tea or juice and gently massage over the skin for two minutes. For all my official or unofficial estheticians out there, you can even take this a step further by placing on top a wet facial gauze + even add steam. One of the things I love most about Éminence is that you need to add water (tea or juice!) to any product to use, which in turn also helps your product last longer! After your 2 minutes is up, gently remove with a warm washcloth.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Step 3: Masque. This year, my good friend Allison + I attended the annual International Beauty Show at the Jacob Javits Center. An entire building full of all of the skin care + beauty goodies you can imagine. It is there that I discovered a new favorite, Farmhouse Fresh. I brought home a few goodies that day, but my all time favorite is their Splendid Dirt. It is a nutrient rich mud mask that is made with organic pumpkin puree. This mask instantly boosts overall radiance by deep cleansing pores, temporarily shrinking their look, and improving the look of broken capillaries and uneven skin tones. To apply, simply use a fan brush and paint a light layer over your skin. Let it stay on until you feel it get dry + stiff, and remove with a warm cloth.

While waiting for my mask to dry, I took the opportunity to take some meditative breaths, while spritzing my favorite Quiet Mind Aura Mist from Lotuswei. Take this moment to reflect on your passed week, and set positive intentions for the upcoming one. The wonderful blend of geranium, coriander + lemon allows me to experience clarity, focus + soundful sleep. It also aids in dissolving my mental chatter + my ability to over-analyze everything.

Step 4: Tone. Another Éminence favorite: Stone Crop Hydrating Mist. A lot of people ask me what the importance + benefit of toners are, and believe me when I say- there are a lot. Not only do (most) toners add hydration to the skin, they close pores after a deep cleanse, balance the pH level of the skin (very important!) and remove any excess dirt, oils and products that may have been left on the skins surface.  They are also the perfect way to prep the skin for your final moisture layer!  The stone crop mist in particular, is extremely healing (smells amazing), balances the tone of the skin and is great for all skin types. To apply, simply mist onto the skin about 6-8 inches away from your face.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Step 5: Moisturze. If I were doing my beauty routine in the morning, I would typically end my process with a protective day cream (maybe even one with SPF benefits) but since this is a wind-down, evening ritual I am going to use oils.  Today, I used a blend of Essential Oils by MAC Cosmetics (for my face) + Weleda  Lavendar Relaxing Body Oils (for my body).  To apply, add a few drops to your palms and gently press into the skin.  When applying oil to my body, I use small amounts at a time and massage gently to the skin- or firmly, if you are lucky enough to have someone add a massage onto your routine!

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Step 6: Relax. After all is said and done, your skin is looking healthy + radiant, it is now time to relax.  Cuddle up to your love, find a light and take a quit adventure with your favorite book.. whatever it may be, end your week feeling happy, refreshed, full of love + ready to take on what the new week has in store.

I hope everyone has a great upcoming week, full of new beginnings, pleasant surprises + smiles across all of your (glowing) faces. Until next time..

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Ker.

Leave a comment