THE LAND OF KILTS

Scotland was a serious emotional roller coaster for me. As the first destination on my backpacking trip, it also became the place where I grieved everything I had left behind. Like, I cried for DAYS. Let me try to paint this picture for you;

After 20 hours of travelling + not an OUNCE of sleep, I’m left to find my Airbnb via public transport with no cell phone or means of knowing where I am in the city. I was quite confident on bus #1, until I got off at the stop that the internet told me to, then was told the next bus I needed does not stop there. Naturally, I proceeded to panic + wander around an unknown busy city WHERE THE PIGEONS LITERALLY ATTACK YOU. Definitely not into that. After asking strangers for help at least 3 times + being denied every. single. time… I gave up, and the next 5 days were almost completely miserable. I was horribly homesick, couldn’t adjust to time change + seriously just did not want to be there. Then, as most things do, everything started to look up.

I took a 12 hour tour to Loch Lomond, The Highlands + Loch Ness. Everything was so vibrant + magical, it was hard to even remember how low I was feeling. Now, I couldn’t quite stay awake for the whole thing (I’d been awake for 24+ hours), but what I did see was seriously stunning. I just wanted to ditch my tour guide + run all around the green hills. I truly can’t put the beauty into words, so you’re just going to have to go see it for yourself!

After Glasgow, I took a train down to the Scottish Borders. There, I stayed with The Watson Family. This family + lifestyle was exactly what I needed to adjust to life in Scotland. I was so welcomed from the moment I stepped off the train. They are a family of 5 with 3 dogs + (temporarily) 6 little tiny puppies that I got to hug + cuddle every day. In the three short weeks I spent at Lewinshope, I grew so fond of the family. Plus, I was able to learn a lot about their beliefs + how it impacts their daily life (#ThePolaroidBible).

In the end, Scotland was short + sweet, but full of wild experiences + genuinely amazing people. I learned a lot about myself in that time, as I still am with my adventures in Iceland. I hope to return one day to experience it on a grander scale, but, for now, I say goodbye.

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Kylee. ❤

Leave a comment