JUICING

It has been a long-time aspiration of mine to one day acquire a juicer. After moving to Kentucky, eating clean has definitely become more of a challenge. So, I decided it was time. After thorough research, I carefully selected  the Omega J8006 Masticating Juicer. Life hasn’t been the same since.  ****Here is a helpful article that led me to this juicer.

It is no secret that juicing is an EXCELLENT way to get your greens/nutrients into your system. Plus, sometimes they’re just easier to stomach than a smoothie or a salad. I always feel immediately refreshed + energized after drinking one.

juicing

So, I’m gonna share with you my RIDE OR DIE juicing recipe.

1/2 bag of Spinach

1/2 bag of Kale

1 lemon (peeled, seeds are ok)

1 apple (take the core out – no seeds)

1.5 Inches of Ginger Root (peeled)

I have experimented with different juicing recipes, but this is my go-to. I drink at least one every single day.

I’ve also tried some different combos with: Green Pepper, Cucumber, Carrots, Grapes, Turmeric, etc. Even if I hate the end result, I usually end up drinking it because it’s got nutrients + I put work into making that sucker.

My only piece of advice when juicing for nutrients would be to go easy on the sugar. If you juice too many fruits, the sugar will enter your system REALLY quickly + you’ll be in for a migraine + sugar crash. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve tried straight up grape juice + straight up apple juice, but drank it only as a refresher + DEFINITELY did not count it as a vital source of nutrients for the day.

Lastly, don’t be so quick to toss the leftover pulp. You can:

  • Bake them into muffins. I use this recipe.
  • Whip them into hummus.
  • Toss them outside for the animals (make sure there’s nothing harmful to species around you)
  • Bake them into crackers.
  • Compost for outdoor plants.

I hope this is helpful to anyone thinking about juicing.

juicing1-8juicing1-10

All photos by: David + Drew Photography

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Whitney. ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

