I’M INKED

I’m 19 + covered in a fair amount of artwork. I spent HOURS getting stabbed with a needle (by an amazing artist ~ Kayla Gibson) to create something I consider absolutely beautiful. Making that decision has definitely been an invitation for everyone to chime in about whether or not they like + if they agree with the art of tattooing or not. So, to get this out of the way;

  • I don’t care if you don’t agree, I love them + that’s all I care about.
  • I support your beliefs for disliking tattoos, in return, you should support my beliefs for liking them.
  • I don’t know what my parents think of them as I did not ask them for permission #perksofadulthood (but I really think it’s a love/hate).

I will not deny that there are some crazy, unthoughtful + inappropriate tattoos out here. Despite those very few horror stories that you’ve heard about, here are my reasons for joining the tattoo side and embracing it wholeheartedly:

TATTOOS ARE A FORM OF STORYTELLING

I literally wear my heart + beliefs on my sleeve. At first glance, it’s simply a sci-fi themed piece that takes up my whole arm. When you dig a little deeper, you find that there’s meaning in everything. It demonstrates the unfathomable to the absolute. The crystals + mushrooms (no, not shrooms, but thanks) show the beauty, life + magic that lies in something so small (look up myceliums then tell me it’s not magic. I dare you). It stems into a camping scene, which is one of the times where you are completely immersed in + appreciating every inch of the environment (shoutout to the f squad for being a part of those memories). Then there’s the fiery, passionate + determined mars; my birth planet. My birthday also leaves me ruled by the moon, influencing my highly imaginative nature. The astronaut being abducted is normally where I lose people, but there is importance, I swear! I believe that we come from the universe; that we are made of stardust. There is so much magic hidden in the synchronicity of us + the stars. Astronauts are the closest we, as humans, can come to exploring where we came from, so, I’m infatuated with the idea of being so close to something so far. Speaking of the unknown…. #ALIENS. I’m not talking about the little green dudes that movies portray (although I’m not dismissing it either), but I totally + completely believe in other life. There are over 100 billion galaxies in the universe THAT WE ARE ABLE TO SEE. We are one solar system in one tiny tiny galaxy. To assume that there is no other form of life when we are quite literally tiny specs of nothing is mind boggling to me.

IT SHOWS A TIMELINE.

One of the biggest concerns of getting tattoos young is that you will regret it later. Regrets are a choice. How you perceive your past decisions lies in your hands alone. My beliefs may shift over time, I know that. Regardless of what I believe in the future, there will always be a time in which I believed strongly in what I have on my body. That alone is crazy important as it shapes who I am + how I carry myself. Plus, it’s always a fun story to tell.

YOU BECOME A CANVAS FOR ARTWORK

Everything that exists is art. My appreciation for art is inexplicable. An artist marked my skin with multiple pieces, all designed to portray my beliefs + my history. Despite your belief on tattoos, there’s no denying that the artwork is stunning. It’s a story; that of the tattoo artist + the one being inked. It should be just as admirable as any painting, photo or sculpture out there.
So, to conclude;

I love my tattoos.

Live and let live.

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Kylee.

Leave a Reply

