MY TIME WITH THE DEVIL A.K.A. BIRTH CONTROL

There are two things I know to come from the underworld; cats (they possess too much knowledge for their own good) + birth control. I don’t actually believe in the underworld, but you get the gist.

I started taking birth control when I was 17 to help clear my skin and regulate my period. At the time, I thought I had pretty bad acne + wanted my face to be perfectly, unrealistically flawless. Boy, did that backfire.

On the pill, I felt fine. I was occasionally over-emotional… like the time I bawled over a tiny rip in my new sweater. It was doing what was promised ~ clearer skin + my time of the month was always on schedule. Then, one day, I decided to stop. I got sick of freaking out over missing a pill, feeling so reliant on them + not being aware of what it was actually doing to my body.

I didn’t have my period for four months when I stopped taking the pill. Don’t get me wrong, it was great. I didn’t have to worry about anything! After a while, it became a bit concerning. I started doing some research to see what birth control actually did to my body + what was happening now that I wasn’t taking it anymore.

I found out that birth control literally just makes your body think you’re pregnant. Maybe everyone knows that + I was just super uneducated, but I couldn’t fathom the fact that I took a pill for two straight years that tricked my body into thinking I was about to have a little baby inside of me! What the heck?! On top of that horrible realization, research showed that birth control increases chances for breast/cervical cancer, heart attacks/strokes, infertility, yeast infections (which I also dealt with #blessed), blood clots + SO MUCH MORE

 

About 6 months after I stopped, I started getting the worst acne I’ve ever experienced in my life (I was also in a super stressful environment). When I left the stress behind + my acne continued to get worse, I knew it was a side effect of the birth control. It got to the point where I didn’t even want to go anywhere because I felt so self-conscious + sad. I changed my diet, tried a whole bunch of different facial products ~ NOTHING WORKED.

Eventually, I was able to find natural, vegetable based supplements to help get my body back on track. I switched my facial care routine to oil cleansing (post coming soon) + really put a focus on my sleep schedule + diet.

While I’m still doing a lot to fix + prevent my skin getting out of control, I’ve gained my confidence + happiness back. I feel happier + healthier than I ever have before + I still have a long way to go!

*Long story short ~ don’t do drugs, they mess with your body.

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Kylee.

4 responses to “MY TIME WITH THE DEVIL A.K.A. BIRTH CONTROL

  1. I used to take Evening Primrose Oil capsules because they helped with my terrible period cramps, but once I stopped I faced similar problem as you and my period stopped being regular. I freaked out! But a year after and with lots of healthy eating, its back to normal thank god. I think all pills that in some way ‘control’ our period messes up our system. Thanks for sharing your experience! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! And those are even a natural alternative, right? I have had really great success with using LOTUSWEI’s Radiant Energy Serum ~ rub it on my belly every night before going to bed and I don’t have any more cramps and my period is regulated to the T!

      Like

Leave a Reply

