MY NAME IS KYLEE + I’M A LABEL READER

You know that person that reads every label, tells everyone that the products they use are killing them + constantly rants about how doomed the world’s health is? Yeah, that’s me. I’m that person.

fullsizerender-3

It began when I did a no-sugar-no-dairy challenge. I cut out EVERYTHING with sugar in it, even natural options like honey. Same with dairy (which was hard because meat + cheese plates were my life). When you put yourself in a position where you have to read every ingredient that is going in your body, you enter a whole new world of what the hell have I been putting in my body my whole life. Why did my mother let me eat this? Why didn’t anyone tell me how horrible it was?!”

Sugar is in absolutely everything. The soup you thought was heart healthy? Sugar. All of the dressings you put on your super nutritious salad? Sugar. The freaking lunch meat you thought was a healthy protein snack? SUGAR.

If you can’t tell, I was pretty upset about all of these realizations. After I started noticing sugar, I began to see artificial sweeteners like sucralose + aspartame. Then, a bunch of unnecessary food dyes + the list just goes on. There are SO many harmful + avoidable ingredients in the foods we eat every day.

So, I became a label reader. I checked anything + everything that was going into my body. I researched the ingredients that I didn’t know, educated myself on what’s good + what’s bad + seriously limited my intake of processed foods that I didn’t prepare myself.

fullsizerender-1

This new way of life made me realize that the best way to keep my body away from additives is by eating what’s given to me from the earth! My diet mostly consists of fruits, vegetables, nuts, quinoa + occasionally a type of meat. I don’t touch dairy for many reasons, the biggest one being I feel healthier + safer keeping it out of my diet. I honestly cringe at the sight of reading sugar on a label. I limit all sugar intake. From coconut sugar to maple syrup to honey, it rarely enters my body.

I am now unbelievably conscious about what I eat. I cannot stress enough how important it is for you to start raising your consumer awareness, especially if you have kids! A lot of the ingredients in the common snack foods we tend to feed children increases risk of allergies, neurological disorders + other health issues. Here are a few of the ingredients to watch out for:

  • partially hydrogenated oil
  • high-fructose corn syrup
  • MSG
    • monosodium glutamate, maltodextrin, sodium caseinate, autolyzed yeast, autolyzed vegetable protein, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, citric acid
  • BHA, BHT
  • sodium nitrate/nitrite
  • propyl gallate
  • sodium benzoate + benzoic acid
  • potassium bromate
  • ANY food coloring
  • artificial sweeteners
    • acesulfame potassium, sucralose, saccharin, aspartame
  • TBHQ

fullsizerender-2

Take care of your body. I will never stop being the annoying friend that scolds you for putting harmful things in your body. Sorry not sorry. I care, so should you. Also, DRINK A LOT OF WATER.

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Kylee.

Leave a Reply

