HEY, YOU. PICK UP A BOOK.

I am the epitome of, “it’s not a phase, mom!” No joke. I go through so many stages, I can’t even keep track of them!

_mg_6927
My current phase: memoir addiction. Literature is my favorite, it always has been. However, there’s something special about reading a piece of someone’s raw story. It’s humbling + opens your eyes to how different everyone’s story is. That being said, everyone should take the time to learn about + understand others. Here are a few of my favorite recent reads;

_mg_6916-jpg-1
WILDFLOWER // DREW BARRYMORE

My love for the 50 First Dates star carries on throughout this book. Drew Barrymore opens up about everything in her life; being emancipated at 14, crazy adventures, sad goodbyes + pivotal moments in her career. It really shows how reaching a happy + healthy mind + life is possible for everyone, even though it may take a long time! Whether or not you like her as an actress, her book definitely makes you appreciate + love her as a person.

p.s. if you’re looking for a weird but fun new series on Netflix, her show Santa Clarita Diet will solve your problem. WARNING; it’s super cheesy.

_mg_6923-1

THE GLASS CASTLE // JEANNETTE WALLS

This is a story of growing up in a strictly abnormal + nonconformist family … in the most drastic ways. Jeannette Walls talks about her + her siblings life, covering every inch of the good + the bad. She demonstrates the ability of finding the silver lining in everything. She was raised under a charismatic, yet angry alcoholic father, and a not-so-typical mother who chose excitement over parenting. Walls’ intelligence + courage guided her through life, allowing her to create the stable environment that she never had as a child. (This is also an upcoming movie with my favorite of favorites, Brie Larson. Read it first!)

_mg_6903-1

WILD // CHERYL STRAYED

There’s a special place in my heart for books about finding yourself in nature. I’ll admit, I saw the movie before I read the book, but they were both amazing. Cheryl Strayed, feeling lost after a loss + scattering family decided to take on the Pacific Crest Trail … solo. She had no experience, training or knowledge about surviving this multi-month trek –  so instead, she put her faith into nature. It’s ultimately a story of falling in a hole then rising to stand on top of mountains.

_mg_6908-1

_mg_6911-1

Go out and buy a book. Not a kindle version, but an ACTUAL book that is made of paper + printed words. Yes, they still exist. Read someone’s story + think about living life in their shoes. Take a break from the modern world of technology + dive into some honest stories that you don’t normally get to hear online.

img_0916-1

What are some of your favorite memoirs I should be adding to my list to read?

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Kylee.

3 responses to “HEY, YOU. PICK UP A BOOK.

  1. This is cool, you are the second young blogger I’ve stumbled on tonight. I am 16 so it’s kind of cool to find other people my age.

    Do you read nonfiction very often?

    I really enjoy it because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

