If I Can Make It There..

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-9-43-24-am

What a year 2016 has been!  For me, it was a year of growth.. growth as an artist and simply as a (almost-thirty year old) female trying to make it in this ferocious city.  I was lucky enough to move into a new apartment this year with my boyfriend, Christopher (and our dog, Lady) here in Astoria, NY.  And in typical New York fashion, its got small square footage and a hefty monthly price tag.  It’s also cozy, has got charm and is ours.. so it’s perfect.

After having been living back in New York for well over a year at the time, I was officially back in the full swing of things when the year had begun.  Hopping all over the city, working hard and chasing dreams.  In 2016, I was also officially signed to my first NY-based artist agency.  With the agency, I was finally given the opportunity to freelance as an artist on the sets of television productions and photo shoots.  As a freelance artist, each day is in a different location, and has different creative direction.  Not one day is the same as the one before, and I have to say- I really love it that way.  I feel so fortunate to have been given a skill that not only helps me make a living for myself, but one that allows me to create so many new experiences while connecting with others.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

As of January 2017, I have officially been working at the MAC Make Up Studio for just shy of a year and a half.  During all of my time spent at the studio, I have been growing and expanding as an artist immensely.  This, for me, is one of the greatest feelings of accomplishment.  I remember what feels like not long ago, sitting alone on a beach over 7,900 miles away, day dreaming about an opportunity as such.  After growing up near the city that never sleeps, and the city of oppurtunity, I always knew what was waiting for me back at home.. and I knew what I had to do.  Now, to see myself two years later doing exactly what I had set my eyes on.. well there’s no greater feeling.  AND I get to do so all while having the greatest person by my side to share this journey with.

This past year, Chris and I were also able to evolve together artistically, personally and professionally.  We collaborate on many things in life together, and I am so grateful to have found my hearts counter point in life.  I never knew the power and gift of sharing your time with another who sees the world as you do, and has dreams and aspirations just as high, until I was lucky enough to find just that.  For those of you who don’t know, my boyfriend Chris is a naturally gifted photographer with the most amazing eye. His photos not only tell a story about that in which he is capturing, but they seem to tell his own story as well.  He inspires me every day, to continue to capture my own moment in time and fearlessly pursue that which makes me feel truly happy.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

To sum it all up, 2016 has been the best year of my life so far.  I am so eager to share with everyone what I’ve learned, what I continue to learn over the new year and share with you anything else that comes my way!  There is a lot of craziness going on in our world right now.  I am so grateful to have such a positive platform that we are able to reach out and connect to others with. Being a part of such a great team of passionate, creative, intelligent and genuine females has been so empowering for me over the past couple of years.  I have been fortunate enough to not only have the ladies of Pure Up Buttercup be a part of my support system, but I get to share this insanely wild ride called life with them by my side.  We always have one another to lift each other up, and to support and inspire one other.  After taking a small hiatus to figure out what this life thing is really all about, I know we are all eager to share with you what the universe has brought to us.. and be your support system too!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

For 2017, there are a few things you can expect from me.  I would really love to..

  • be Pure Up’s go-to expert for everything and anything beauty
  • make more conscious decisions for my diet and lifestyle
  • commit to yoga and meditation
  • travel with christopher
  • do the things I say I want to do! (I struggle with the follow through..)
  • spend more time with my family
  • work on being a more reliable friend
  • find balance between work and my personal life
  • go hiking more
  • read and write more
  • chase any and all inspirational bubbles that come my way (E. Gilbert<3)
  • grow my freelance business

Photos by: Christopher Hurst // @chrishjr

Leave a Reply

