HELLO, IT’S ME

Well, my span of posting lasted about three months; longer than most of my jobs (my fam will appreciate that).

2016 was definitely full of changes for me. I moved to Portland + back, made some pretty big advancements creatively, changed my educational path, spent a lot of time making, took solo trips + got my whole arm tattooed!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

WORK LIFE:

As soon as I got back from Portland, I started working to earn back some of the cash I had spent. What started as a simple restaurant job eventually stemmed into designing a mural + managing their social media accounts. I gained a ton of experience + was able to push my photography + drawing/design skills to the limit. I ended up staying there for about seven months (LONGEST JOB YAY). I’m super thankful for the people I met + the opportunities that arose during that time. However, as most simple jobs, it became very mundane. So, I knew it was time for my next step!

I started working with my sister at LOTUSWEI, a flower essence company. Yes, it can be hard working with a sibling, but, it is possible. I mean, we work 40 hours a week together + still choose to hang out on the weekends. She’s even sitting in front of me as I write this! I started doing video editing, more photography, writing + drawing. I met MORE amazing people + was able to continue to grow, mentally + creatively.

SCHOOL LIFE:

Full disclosure: I am the most indecisive person you will ever know… but not in a bad way. I discover something new + I want to include it in my plan! I want to try + experience everything I can. So, deciding a career + educational path is the most difficult thing in the world for me. I bought myself some time by getting my associates degree a semester after I graduated high school. Now it’s been a year + I still don’t know what I want to do. I’m not worried though, it’s an adventure. I love school + learning, so it’s not a matter of if I will return, it’s just a matter of when + where. I have all the time in the world to get there!

img_4414


FUTURE LIFE:

This year, I am finally going to do what I’ve wanted to do since birth (exaggerating? Maybe. Maybe not)… TRAVEL. Despite the constant:

“do you know how much that will cost?”

“who are you going with?”

“are you sure this is what you want to do?”

I am 100% for sure going to see the world, by myself, with the money I’ve been working extremely hard to save without a SINGLE doubt in my mind. I know this is what I’m supposed to be doing + nothing will stop me. I’m expecting it to be harder than I have anticipated, to have moments of loneliness + confusion, to spend more money than I have planned, but it will be worth it. I will have more experience and knowledge than I had before, so why would anything stop me?!

img_4424I’m super happy to be back writing with my favorite group of girls in the world. They are all truly amazing, creative, beautiful, funny + INSPIRING; I am beyond lucky to work beside them (even though most of us are thousands of miles apart). Sorry we’ve been gone, but this year is definitely going to be one to remember!

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Kylee.

Leave a Reply

