CREATIVITY BREEDS CREATIVE INSPIRATION

A few days ago I met up with a friend who wanted me to take photos of some food she had prepared so that she could use them in a business plan she is in the process of creating. I was so excited to meet up. One, we haven’t met up in a while so it was going to be great to catch up. Two, I got to eat the food after the photos were snapped (and lemme tell you, I was drooling the entire photoshoot). Three, I was contributing my skills in a way that put her one step closer to creating the job of her dreams; developing + delivering healthy vegan meal plans for clients of all types.

As she was in the kitchen coming up with the next recipe on a whim, I was disassembling her dining room to get the best natural lighting situation, standing on top of chairs and table tops to get just the right flat lay angle and rearranging sprigs of cilantro a million different ways to look juuuuuust right. Every once in a while, I would hear her lick her fingers and contemplate out loud as to what else she thought the nice cream or vegan tuna side dish needed to get the flavor or consistency juuuuuust right.

She was in the kitchen with her food + utensils, creating. I was in the dining room with my camera + tasty props, creating. {pictures to come once her site goes live!}

orange earrings

She made these dehydrated orange earrings!
{Contact her to get your pair here!}

After all the photos we needed were taken, we ate what our stomachs could handle from all the delicious dishes she prepared. Once stuffed, we played around with jewelry making, took more pictures of the jewelry we made, talked about how to create a website + blog, etc. Creative ideas were dying to come out of us. We were both getting more and more excited about our individual goals + creative passion projects.

Before this, I think we were both feeling a creative block. For her, getting the initial foundation of her business idea down on paper is a tough task – it’s HUGE, so getting started feels like a storm ridden mountain to climb. And that in itself is enough to feel uninspired to begin. For me, I haven’t been sitting down to write on the blog as much as I would like to because I haven’t felt like I’ve had anything profound or interesting to say (or the ol’ I haven’t had time excuse makes its’ unwelcome debut).

Moral of the story: By playing in your own element, ideas begin to blossom. Creativity breeds creative inspiration. Collaboration is fuel.

So if you’re feeling uninspired or like you don’t know where or how to start, find your element + start playing. And if you need some support, get with a friend and collaborate on a project together! I know one thing for sure, I will definitely be doing fun collabs like this more often! Weeee!

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Taylor.

2 responses to “CREATIVITY BREEDS CREATIVE INSPIRATION

Leave a Reply

