RANDOM ACTS OF KINDNESS

pink roses
When given the choice to be right or be kind…choose kind. -Dr. Wayne W. Dyer

Let’s face it, we are all on the go-go-go all of the time. We walk around with our mental to-do lists and are rushing from one place to the next, rarely taking the extra second stop in the moment to feel grateful that we are, uhhh – ALIVE!

With trying to take that mindful moment more often in my day-to-day, I’ve also started becoming increasingly aware of how my own body feels – where I store stress, how what I eat affects my body, what brings me joy, what doesn’t, etc. This attention to how I feel has also made me more apt to noticing how perfect strangers walk about in their bodies and how they may feel. I admire those who walk with the poisiest of poise and exhibit happiness like a babe. And to those who wear permanent tension in their faces + bodies … well, I know one thing that we all can do to help release that tension for them in an instant – – – random acts of kindness.

What do think of when you think of performing a random act of kindness? Buying a stranger a coffee, giving flowers for no reason, leaving someone a love or gratitude note? These are all great examples, and have some hefty power to make someone’s day. But I’ve been noticing more and more that even the most simple gestures of kindness make do too! And they are almost completely effortless – and can be engraved into your everyday with ease.

The soft smile. Just yesterday as I was pulling up to enter my gate code to get into my neighborhood, an older gentleman was arriving at the same time, but exiting on the opposite side. We both rolled down our windows, entered the code, and proceeded to go through the gate. As we slowly passed each other, we made eye contact – he quickly turned his face to the road and I smiled at him. Then he did an instant double take and smiled back. When you make eye contact with a stranger, SMILE! Don’t freak out and feel like you just looked like you were staring at them like a creep.

A kind neighborly wave. As I leave my neighborhood for work every morning, I always hope that there are people out on the sidewalks for me to wave at. It is so simple. Hand out the window, and lift. Not only does it (hopefully) make them feel noticed + human, I get a little spark of joy when they wave back. Win-win.

A simple hello. The other day as I was walking to my car, I passed a neighbor who was pushing her little girl in a stroller. From afar, I saw that she had that kind of tightness in her face that causes a wrinkle in between the eyebrows. And her shoulders were so tight they looked like they were trying to meet her ears – painful! As we crossed paths, all I did was say hi, with a little smile. NOTHING HUGE. Immediately, the tension in her face dissolved. And then, it was almost as if the drastic change of expression in her face made her notice how the rest of her body felt. As she continued to walk away, she adjusted the rest of her posture and walked with more grace.

People admire kindness – no matter the shape or size. Especially with all that is happening in the world right now, be a beacon of light & inspire MORE kindness – smile often, wave at people just because, and say hi even if it feels weird.

Do not overlook negative actions merely because they are small; however small a spark may be, it can burn down a haystack as big as a mountain … Do not overlook tiny good actions, thinking they are of no benefit; even tiny drops of water in the end will fill a huge vessel. – Buddha

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Tay.

Leave a Reply

