UNDERSTANDING AN INTROVERT 101

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Life’s a balancing act between two types of people; the extroverts and the introverts. Extroversion is the dominant and, let’s be honest, preferred personality type in this world. Extroverts gain energy from other people, love socializing and are generally very open and approachable human beings. Introverts, on the other hand, are the total opposite. Social gatherings can be draining, solitude is very much appreciated and being described as quiet and shy is rather common. It’s no secret that I am 100% an introvert. However, the more I admit to it, the more people approach it in a negative way… probably because they don’t understand. With that being said, here’s a little run-down on why us introverts are the way we are (and proud of it, for that matter).

+ Our train of thought is slow, but traveling much longer distances.

Deep thinking is an understatement. Personally, when someone asks for my opinion, I can never give a quick response. Even in a typical conversation, I need extra time to put my thoughts together before I speak. It’s almost like my mind is a puzzle, and the pieces must be put together before I feel comfortable enough to share the finished product.

+ Our analytical powers are through the roof.

It’s safe to say that 95% of my time is spent observing other people (I’m not a stalker, I promise). Whether it be a one-on-one conversation or a large party of people, I am constantly taking note of emotional reactions, stranger interactions, little ticks that people have and so on. There is honestly nothing more interesting to me than watching how people carry themselves day in and day out. Even if you don’t think I know you very well, I probably know you more than anyone else in the room. Okay, maybe it is a little stalkerish. No harm no foul, right?

+ We provide our own entertainment.

I don’t think I can describe this without sounding a tad bit insane. Basically, I like to dance alone in my room. By dance, I mean have a full blown party. I don’t just sing in the car, I PERFORM. I am my own comedy show. Puns are my favorite thing ever, and simply thinking of one can have me rolling. If you catch me smiling while I’m sitting in silence, it’s probably because I cracked a hilarious joke in my head. I most likely won’t tell it to you, but believe me, it was funny.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

+ SMALL TALK SUCKS.

Seriously. I hate it. Questions about myself are also the worst. However, just because I don’t like small talk does not mean I don’t have big things to say. Getting to know an introvert just takes time. If you can’t be patient, don’t waste your time (especially on the small talk. Please. I’m begging you.)

+ Alone time is essential.

Being around people all the time is extremely draining. I mean, I literally shut down and can’t process any thoughts when a situation becomes too much to handle. Wanting to be alone to re-energize definitely shouldn’t be looked at as antisocial. I consider it the complete opposite. Silence is freaking loud on its own. A noisy mind is not easy to handle. Sometimes, it is necessary to take away all other stimulation and just rejuvenate.

I am an introvert, and I love every bit of it. My little world is very fun, and I am always open to people joining it… For a few hours at a time, of course.

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Kylee.

Leave a Reply

