How to Just Keep L-I-V-I-N

imageIt’s that time again, y’all! Summer! Which also means…the kick off of Cinespia! I couldn’t imagine a more perfect way to begin both seasons than a showing of Dazed & Confused! What a glorious cult-classic filled with nostalgia of great music and the freedom of being a teenager. Richard Linklater, I love you and your spot on talent for coming-of-age stories.

DazedAndConfused2

DazedAndConfused1

To say that Trevor and I had a great time would be an understatement. It was a perfect night and exactly what we’ve both needed. This was one of the first movies we ever watched together due to our shared loved for the film. So, you could definitely say it holds some sentimental value!

DazedAndConfused6

DazedAndConfused7

DAzedAndConfused3

Last year, we both bit the bullet and put on our adult pants by getting full-time jobs. Jobs that were great and in the industry, but made us cliches to the max. I grew a coffee addiction. Ya know, one of those people that would answer “How are you this morning?” with a “Better now that I have my coffee”. All felt right with the world. “This is what it means to be an adult.”, I thought. My body had never complied with sleep so well!

DazedAndConfused8

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 6.26.01 PM

However, the winds of change blew upon us. Our terms ended at our full-time jobs in the same week. On good terms, but big change to deal with nonetheless. Strangely, we haven’t panicked. We acted quickly and got part-time jobs. We’ve both taken this time to focus on personal projects that we haven’t felt inspired to work on in months and we’ve extended our 4th of July vacation since missing work is no longer an issue.

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 6.27.34 PM

DazedAndConfused4

So, this event was a big one for us! It WAS the official kick off for summer and we got to share in these kids’ excitement as “School’s Out” radiated through the speakers and they busted through the doors to celebrate the months ahead! It feels good. 

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 6.24.42 PM

Life is cool sometimes. I thank God everyday for all of the blessings he has given me. Although I look forward to seeing what the future has in store, I’m putting my energy towards focusing on the present. Living day by day. L-I-V-I-N.

image

Wishing all of you a happy summer filled with nothing but good times! 

Now Playing:

School’s Out – Alice Cooper

Hurricane – Bob Dylan

Burnin For You – Blue Oyster Cult

Free Ride – The Edgar Winter Group

Hair Of The Dog – Nazareth

Listen To The Music – The Doobie Brothers

Dazedandconfused5

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally aware. With love, Whitney.

* Several photos are credited to Cinespia.

Leave a Reply

