Superstitiously Stranded

Last week, I had a very unexpected day. I had the whole day off, with no set plans, and woke up craving an escape into nature. So, off I went. Instead of telling the story of my experience, I decided to write a list of things that happened, things I saw, and things I learned along the way.

image

image

1. Explore where you call home. I am always longing for the life of a vagabond, but every single place that we consider familiar has new ground to explore. The Superstition Mountains is a 30 minute drive from where I live, and I didn’t even cover 1% of what it has to offer.

image

2. Don’t try to pull a cactus out of your skin with a free hand. It will get stuck too. They are a sticky contraption. And they really, really hurt.

image

3. Never, ever, ever leave your keys in the car. Even if you think you’re only going to be away for as long as it takes to take a single photo. If you do, at least be sure to grab your phone or wallet because cars sometimes spontaneously lock with your keys inside, leaving you stranded. But if this does happen, you best be open to adventure.

image

4. When you feel like you are stranded in a scene from True Detective and start to get a little clammy, just breath and think of Matthew McConaughey.

image

image

image5. The rickety old building we got stranded for 2 hours by is a schoolhouse from 1896.

image

image

6. Always find a souvenir to attribute your experiences to. This turquoise beauty has quite the story behind it.

image

7. My handsome savior always has my back. My mess is his. His mess in mine.

image

8. You can never have enough sunset pictures. Arizona’s sunsets are always breathtaking. Seriously. Every. Single. Night.

image

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Taylor.

(Portraits by Isabel Ham)

Leave a Reply

