Natural Dyeing with Beets

I have decided to take on the project of experimenting with natural dyes. I have been reading a lot about what types of natural ingredients can be used for dyes and some can even be found in my own garden or pantry! You can dye fabrics with berries, fruits, vegetables, juices and even spices!

bottomofdressI had a plain white dress that I never wore, other than as a lousy swim suit cover up, and I made it the guinea pig for my first natural dying experiment. I was going for a really pale nude pink color and my research stated that my favorite root of the earth was best for this color – red beets! I didn’t want the color to be very bright and vibrant so I didn’t dye with the pure juice directly.

beetssimmeringI cut up about 3 beets and placed them in a pot with about 6 cups of water. Brought it to boil and let simmer for 10-15 minutes. I drained the chunks out and used the water left in the pot as my dye.

fabricprep

Before I exposed the dress to the dye, I prepared the fabric for dyeing. I brought 6 cups of water and a ½ cup salt to boil and let the dress simmer in the mixture for about an hour. This makes it so the fabric takes and holds the dye a little better.

indye

Once the beet dye and dress was properly prepared, I added the fabric to the dye and let sit for about an hour. Even though color came out more of a burnt nude, I still loved the way it turned out. Next time I am going to try dyeing with pure beet juice. I’ll keep you posted on my experiments and results!

braidontopdress fulllengthdress

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Taylor.

One response to “Natural Dyeing with Beets

Leave a Reply

