Breathing On/Off

I recently just finished the last experimental video project of my BFA. I can’t describe how great it feels. The final tweaks, the last export, the installation presentation, the final critiques…ahh and it’s finally finished. OR, the first stage of what could be a bigger project has only started!

A lot of my experimental work is based around the concept of our existence as energy. Breathing On/Off explores the involuntary actions of a conscious mind intentionally controlling and manipulating a source of energy that we all encounter on a daily basis; a light bulb. Breathing in and exhaling out is an instinctive action we all must do to survive. Furthermore, our breath is a life source and through conscious awareness of this fact, we have the ability to manifest the happenings of the future.

As I worked on this piece, I realized that the piece could get bigger. I could work on this piece and finalize a grand execution of the simple concept that I was exploring. I can add more people, create different beats, have more projections, program an entire light show…the possibilities are endless. I am excited to keep working on it and see what shape takes form!

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Taylor.

One response to “Breathing On/Off

  1. This is really really cool! I really admire people who can make video art, because it’s far more complicated than people think. I had to make a stop motion and a self defined video for my Intermedia class, and boy was I surprised at how difficult it was haha. “Breathing On/Off explores the involuntary actions of a conscious mind intentionally controlling and manipulating a source of energy that we all encounter on a daily basis; a light bulb. ” I love this concept! Great work :]

    Like

Leave a Reply

