The Beautiful Baby Kori

Once I graduated from high school, I left my hometown and started on an amazing adventure and have never once looked back. Because of that, the people that I grew up with that are getting married and having kids are too far for me be around and see go through these beautiful moments in life. Luckily there are videos and pictures and stories to pass on, but it’s never the same as seeing it in front of your eyes.

And then, something amazing happened. My beautiful friend, Kelsi Knoles, had a baby girl. She was the first friend that I actually got to see go through the entire process. AND, Kelsi asked ME to do her newborn pictures. Completely honored, and insanely nervous, I said YES! My dad purchased a Canon camera for my mom years ago for her birthday. She never gave it much attention so I adopted it as my baby and ever since then, I’ve been obsessed with taking portrait photos of anyone willing to be my subject. As a fun hobby on the side, I’ve done engagement photos, family portraits, senior pictures and various themed photo shoots with my photogenic friends. But never baby pictures, so this was something I really had to prepare myself for.

koricanvas1

Seeing Kelsi go through the entire pregnancy was a trip. Seeing her body change and feeling the baby kick inside of her was something that I’ve never experienced. And then I realized I have never been around a NEW newborn. It totally made me think of life in a way that I never have before. And if it felt THAT crazy for me to even be around, I couldn’t even begin to fathom how being a first time, young mother felt for Kelsi! So, I decided to send her a few questions to answer about her journey with her baby Kori, and her responses are absolutely beautiful.

Describe the transition from Kori being inside your stomach to in front of your eyes and in your hands. 

This is really indescribable. You go from feeling her little flutters in the second trimester, to her strong kicks and turns in the third, to actually seeing them happen in front of you! The weirdest part is recognizing everything. Even her hiccups! 🙂 Everything feels the same when I hold her in my arms as it did in my belly. I just didn’t know exactly what I was feeling when I was pregnant. As much as I miss her in my belly already, having her in front of me is something I couldn’t imagine living without. It’s the little things that mean so much — her smiles, sneezes, and silly faces.

korimatte2

What is your favoriting thing about being a mom so far?

I’d have to say the best part of being a mom is knowing she needs me. When she’s upset, hungry or even just too cold, she looks to me to comfort her. It’s a bond that’s stronger than any love I’ve ever felt. It’s really the best feeling in the world. With that said, I also really enjoy seeing her with her dad. Isaac is so incredible with her, and I can already tell that she is so in awe of him. The way she looks at him is so precious. I’m so glad I get to share this experience with the man I love. Together we built the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.

koribw2

How has Kori changed your idea of love?

Kori has made me appreciate love at its’ truest, simplest form. When they handed her to me seconds after she was born, it was almost like the love I had for her completely took over my body — like an adrenaline rush. Nothing mattered but her. I feel like loving people is really hard to do sometimes. It requires trust, compassion, forgiveness, etc… But loving Kori required none of that. True love just happens. So I guess I still have the same idea of love, I just have a new appreciation for it.

KORI

Kori is so lucky to come into this world with Kelsi as her mom. I am so excited to watch it all take shape and see Kori grow into a person as beautiful as the girl I am lucky enough to call my friend.

– Naturally inspired. Locally aware. Universally beautiful. With love, Taylor.

2 responses to “The Beautiful Baby Kori

Leave a Reply

